Wrestling Hosting #15 Kohawks in IIAC Dual Wednesday Night

Wrestling Hosting #15 Kohawks in IIAC Dual Wednesday Night

The Buena Vista wrestling team will step into Iowa Conference action for the first time this season when it hosts 15th-ranked Coe College inside of Siebens Fieldhouse on Wednesday night.

Meet Information:
Who: #15 Coe (1-0, 1-0 IIAC) @ Buena Vista (0-1, 0-0 IIAC)
When: Wednesday, December 6, 2017 * 7:00 p.m.
Where: Siebens Fieldhouse * Storm Lake, Iowa

Broadcast Information:
Live Video: http://portal.stretchinternet.com/bvu/
Live Results: trackwrestling.com


Meet Notes:

Pin to Win: BVU junior Shane Vaughan continues to climb the charts on the program's all-time pins list.  He currently has 23 and sits 13th all-time.  He's three away from the top-10 with the all-time record sitting at 48 (Tom Mashek).

Drought against the Kohawks: BVU has dropped 13 straight dual matches against Coe with its last victory coming back during the IIAC Duals, hosted by BVU, in 2003-04, when the Beavers came out on top, 22-18.  Since then, Buena Vista has been held to under 10 team points in 11 of those 13.


Scouting Each Team:

About Coe: The Kohawks are taking the mat for the second time in Iowa Conference action this season after notching a 23-16 victory over Central College in Cedar Rapids on November 16.  The team most recently competed at the Luther Hill Invite this past Saturday, hosted by Simpson College, and had six individuals win titles with eight overall finalists.

Junior Jake Voss, currently ranked sixth by the NWCA, is tied for the team lead with 11 victories on the year.  Andrew Holladay also has 11 triumphs followed by freshman Josh Gerke's 10.  That trio has a combined 130 wins in their career.  Sophomore Cole Erickson, who's ranked 10th at 149 pounds, has won three straight matches overall and is 19-11 early in his career.  He went on to place fifth at the NCAA Tournament in his first collegiate campaign a year ago.  Coe had five wrestlers which placed in the top-six of the NCAA Regional Meet.

Coe received 49 votes and was picked to finish third in this year's IIAC Preseason Coaches Poll.  The team went 5-3 in the league a year ago and took fourth.

About Buena Vista: The Beavers are also competing in their second dual meet of the year, but for the first time against a conference foe.  The team was edged late in a non-conference dual at Northwestern College (IA) back on November 21 in Orange City.  The team got five victories in the dual, including a fall from freshman Schuyler Spurrier at 133.  The team most recently hosted the BVU Open this past Saturday where it placed five of its 11 wrestlers that took part in the top-five, including a pair of runner-ups.

Sophomore Riley Altenburg has a team-leading nine wins on the year and is 9-5 overall.  Spurier, along with fellow freshmen John Tuttle are tied with junior Shane Vaughan with seven wins.  Vaughan, meanwhile, continues to chalk up the pins as he now has five on the year and 23 in his career.  Fellow junior Kevin Pape is 6-5 on the year with five of those wins coming via a fall.  Brad Kerkhoff, the 2016 IIAC Freshman of the Year, is currently 4-4 and is the team's active career leader in wins with 42.

Altenburg, Kerkhoff and Vaughan each placed in the top-8 of last year's NCAA Regional Tournament with Kerkhoff also being named a Scholar All-American.

Up Next: BVU will remain at home this Saturday to host St. Olaf in a non-conference dual at 4:00pm while the Kohawks will be off until taking part in the Wartburg Desert Duals out in Las Vegas, Nev., on December 18.


Projected Line-up:

Wt. Coe '17-18 W-L   Buena Vista '17-18 W-L
125     Brock Henderson     4-3               Nate Vento     3-6
133 Fletcher Green 3-1   Schuyler Spurrier     7-5
  OR Amier Khamis 6-3   OR Max Owen 1-4
141 Brady Ruden 9-3   Riley Altenburg 9-5
149 #10 Cole Erickson 3-2   John Tuttle 7-4
157 Josh Gerke 10-2   Brad Kerkhoff 4-4
        OR Nathan Lamas 1-4
165 Bryce Scott 5-4   Shane Vaughan 7-7
        OR Andrew Hoffman     1-9
174 #6 Jake Voss 11-1   Shane Vaughan 7-7
        OR Andrew Hoffman 1-9
184 Josh Edel 7-3   Lane Jellison 0-4
197 Andrew Holladay 11-3   Kevin Pape 6-5
285 Brennan Koerperich     1-0   Tyler Puls 4-6